Are you a Second Choice?

There's no first or second choice in God's vocabulary. (1)Given a chance, would you like to be a second choice? Many of us wants to be the first choice in everything. If you are in a competition, you want to be the champion. If you are in the school, who would have not want to be the first honor. If you are in a relationship, who would want to be the second choice of his/her partner? Being a first choice give us a lot of advantage because in our society, the first choice would always be the best among the rest, the creme of the crop, the greatest one.However, is there something wrong from being the second choice?

Being the second choice means you are great person but you will sometimes feel that way. You are the person who is always next to chosen one. You will be the second one to be called, texted and updated. You are not the last but you are not also the first and you will never feel how it is like to be because being the second choice have its own feeling. You will never feel like you are always good enough and there’s something more that you need to prove. When you are a second choice, you will always feels like you are in a competition and you need to win but ended up not the winner.

I could remember one of my conversation with my training head in the missionary work, telling him that I always feel inferior with other people because I always feel that I am just a second choice in all the opportunities that I have. It feels like I am just existing because the first choice decline or rejected the opportunities that he should have. It feels like there’s no other choice that’s why I am chosen.

I grew up with a thinking that I should always excel in everything that I am doing but ended up that there is someone who is always better than me.  I did not graduate valedictorian in elementary because I ended up being the salutatorian. I am being tapped always in a position in an organization just to replace an inactive one. Finding job was quite difficult because I did not graduate with latin honors due to a failing grade.

My training head told me that there’s nothing wrong being the second choice. It is just a matter of our perspective in life. Being second doesn’t mean that you are a loser because in fact you are still a winner. Being second means there’s more opportunity for you to make yourself to be a better version. Being second doesn’t mean you are less blessed than others because you know that you are indeed loved by the Lord.

Whenever you feel inferior because you are just a second choice, remember these three things:

  1. There’s no first or second choice in God’s vocabulary. You are His only choice. You are being called specifically by name. Wherever you are, whatever you are doing, He puts you there for a purpose. You are there to make His love be felt by the people that surrounds you. Never doubt His plans for you because all of these are for your welfare.
  2. In the eyes of the Lord, we are all equal. We are all His sons and daughters and we are loved by Him equally. There’s no need to get jealous of the things that we don’t have because we know that He will give it in His time.
  3. Don’t compare yourself to others. The greatest competitor that we should have is yourself. We should always aim to improve ourselves until we reach our goals. Never compare yourself to others’ accomplishments and be confident that you can also do great things.

You are deeply loved and wonderfully made by the Lord. Being a second choice is a grace from the Lord. You are not just a BACKUP PLAN but you are the ENTRUSTED ONE. You are not a LOSER but you are also a WINNER. 

 

 

Leave a comment